Heart Chakra

We are currently up to the heart chakra. Well done to those who have been following and working on the previous chakras mentioned in previous blogs.

The heart chakra is the fourth chakra of the seven. Represented by the colour green and located in the centre of the chest.

This chakra is one of the most obvious ones. The heart chakra is all about love, for ourselves and others. You will notice a connection with the previous chakras. If you have read about and worked on these areas, you will have understood the importance of self-love and overcoming previous emotions that may have held you back from enjoying life fully. All of life's experiences will have an impact on these chakras whether good or bad and will continue to have an impact on these areas throughout our life, having a profound effect on the heart chakra and our life's future.

If the heart chakra becomes unbalanced or blocked we may experience times of loneliness, feeling unloved, depressed, and disconnected from ourselves, others, and the world, nothing making us happy. We may become used to feeling like this, cannot see a way out, or end up accepting this is our life....the norm! Plodding through life, not willing to or knowing how to change it. We may look to others in hope of finding happiness or we may have watched or read one to many happily ever afters, ending up spending most of our lives looking for this perfect life, families all getting on, a life full of smiles and laughter, a job we love, money flowing and the love of our lives treating us like princes or princesses. In reality, we start to see our life representing an Eastenders Christmas special, the fairy tale a distant dream.

Of course, this can all be changed. It is all too easy to feel negative and unhappy with our life, we are so busy looking for ways to improve it from the outside that we miss the simple solution, literally under our nose, self-love and happiness within. By achieving this the negative things that may try and get us down will be deflected by the sunbeam radiating from our hearts. If we are happy within we will attract good people into our lives, good things into our lives without even realising. Those who belong in our lives will continue to empower us, show us compassion and love. By loving ourselves, we will start to notice those who may have been negative or mean to us in the past being exposed, our eyes will finally be opened to them and we will realise we no longer need people like this in our lives. That empowering self-love will give us the courage and confidence to walk away from what no longer serves us. We will start to appreciate the smaller things in life, not falling for the mainstream stuff of needing brands, expensive gadgets, and getting ourselves into debt purchasing them. They make us happy for all of five minutes, yet takes us so much longer to pay them off. The little things in life that we all take for granted will become the big things, like having our health, a roof over our heads, food, warmth, and a few good people in our lives, this is all we truly need to make us happy.

Life is full of choices, and yes we have to experience unpleasant things throughout our life, but it's our choices in how we deal with them that map out our future. A little love, gratitude, and compassion towards ourselves will help us create our little fairytale. People won't be looking for this in a book store, they will be able to read it from our genuine, happy, beautiful, glowing appearance.


Tips and Advice to help unblock negative energy in the heart chakra.

In a note pad or sheet of paper, write 5 things about yourself that makes you smile. Do this every morning to start the day on a positive.

Take a walk in nature. Breath in and appreciate the air, your view, the trees, the birds. Sit and watch the birds embrace their freedom. If you were a bird, which one would you be and why? Read up the spiritual meaning of that bird, there may be a hidden message in there you may need to hear.

Food / Herbs:

Green coloured foods like, apples, pears, avocado, spinach, salad leaves, broccoli, cabbage, celery, kiwi, Basil, thyme, parsley, rosemary.


Water, green tea, macha tea.

Yoga Pose:

The Sphinx (see picture below)

Breath slowly whilst focusing good, positive intentions towards your heart chakra. Do this for 2-3 minutes.


Below is a free online mediation guide I use. However, if this one does not suit you feel free to look on other online sites to find one that suits you best.


Rose Quartz, jade, green aventurine, emerald, bloodstone

Essential oils:

Rose, Bergamot, Lavender

Chakra Oracle Card for Belief Change

by Nikki Gresham-Record

10 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All